Thunder Valley Raceway » 2012 Results


June 17th, 2012

 Shawn Claar rallied late to snatch victory from the jaws of defeat Saturday night at Thunder Valley.  The win in the Late Model 25 lapper was  his second of the year at the track.    Joining Claar as celebrators in victory was Tom Warren,  who came from last to first in the Semi Late  event, Ryan Beckett who won his first career Pure Stock race,  and Robert Pluta in 4 Cylinder action.
     It was a  Lee family front row for the Late Model feature and Dan Lee got the jump on brother Dave for the early lead. It took several laps for Shawn Claar to emerge from the crowd and take second,  but  when he did, he did not threaten Lee up front.  Greg Fetters and Chuck Clise eventually got into third and fourth but it seemed that none could challenge Lee, who got away after each of the early race cautions as well.
     After the halfway point Claar began to close on Lee and challenge for the lead. Lee was able to hang on and defend his spot until  the clock struck 12 on lap 20.   Lee hesitated then tangled with the lapped car of Larry Foor, and Claar went for it.  He swept around outside both Lee and Foor  going into turn 3  and took control.  From that point on Claar ran off from the others to score his second win of the season.  Lee held on for second,  followed by Fetters, Clise, Ron Bottenfield, Wayne Johnson, Kirk Baker,  Bill Burns, Tom Decker and Foor.  Lee and Clise won the heats.
   Jamie Kohan was the pole sitter and early Semi Late leader but Jason Vangilder was ahead on lap two.   But Tom Warren had knifed through the field from eighth and was all oner Vangilder.  Warren shot by on lap 4 and ran off from the field.   Jim Sayler who had pitted with a flat tire during a first lap caution came from the rear to challenge Vangilder late but fell short.   At the finish it was Warren well ahead of Vangilder, Sayler, Bill Pluta and Billy McClellan.
     Jason Bender was the early Pure Stock leader until Ryan Beckett arrived from the pack.  Beckett made the move around Bender on lap three and left the field.  Bender held on in pursuit until Charlie Walter got by on lap 8.  Walter, once in second could not close on Becket until  the first caution flew on lap 13. On the restart he took a run at Beckett but Beckett got away again.  Walter forund himself more worried with the advance of Mike Duck as the laps wound down as Beckett ran off to secure his first win.  At the line it was Beckett, Walter, Duck and Mike Ott.  Brian Shaw, Bender, Jarrod Brown, Mike Shaffer, Terry Mitchell and Justin Milburn completed the top 10.  Duck and Beckett won the heats.
      Robert Pluta came from sixth to the lead on the chaotic 4 Cylinder first lap.  He then led  the distance holding off the late race charge of twin brother Andrew for the win.  Andrew made it exciting by going several laps side by side but could not get by, and Robert opened up some distance at the finish.  The twins were followed by Nick Zborovancik,  Dan Lowery, Leroy Booher, Jeremy Miller, and Mike Meck.  The Plutas won the heats.
LATE MODEL 25 LAP  1  Shawn  Claar,  2 Dan Lee,  3 Greg Fetters,  4 Chuck Clise,  5 Ron Bottenfield,  6 Wayne Johnson,  7 Kirk Baker,  8  Bill Burns,  9 Tom Decker,  10  Larry Foor,  11 Dave Lee,  12 Steve Gobney  DNS  Gene Kain
SEMI LATE 20 LAP  1  Tom Warren,  2 Jason Vangilder,  3 Jim sayler,  4 Bill Pluta,  5 Billy McClellan  6 Vigi Zuccolotto,  7  Jamie Kohan,  8 Joe Pluta,  DNS  Greg Cornell
PURE STOCK 18 LAP  1  Ryan Beckett,  2 Charlie Walter,  3 Mike Duck,  4 Mike Ott,  5 Brian Shaw,  6 Jason Bender,  7 Jarrod Brown,  8  Mike Shaffer,  9 Terry Mitchell,  10  Justin Milburn,  11 Russ Hartman,  12  Chad Walter  13  Dave Beahr,  14  Jim Dearmitt,  15  Matt Presock,  16  Mark Field
4 CYLINDER  15 lap  1  Robert Pluta,  2 Andrew Pluta,  3 Nick Zborovancik,  4  Dan Lawery,  5  Leroy Booher,  6 Jeremy Miller,  7 Mike Meck,  8  Pat Breahm,  9  Keith Deeter,  10 Mike Hagens,  11 Dan Jackson,  12 Doug Hostettler,  13 Ray Wright,  14  Dustin Drake