Thunder Valley Raceway » 2012 Results


September 22nd, 2012

Matt Parks Made a rare Thunder Valley appearance pay off as he swept to victory in the Late Model portion of the Valley finale.  It was Parks’ first ever Thunder Valley win and came as the Late Models headlined the first day of the annual two day event.  In other action on the Friday night program, Rick Singleton  dominated the Limited race and Robert Pluta won the 4 Cylinder finale.
      Matt Parks’ first stroke of luck came in the redraw as he started on the front row of the Late Model 25 lapper.Ad After some first lap jockeying he emerged with the initial lead.  Parks held on through several early cautions as Doug Glessner kept it close. Glessner made several runs at Parks,  whose car showed increasing amount of sparks with each passing lap.  but Parks rebuffed each advance.  At the finish Parks was blessed with  a second stroke of good luck, as a tire let go after he crossed the line and he limped to Victory Lane  on three tires.
     Doug Gessner challenged Parks in the mid laps of the race before falling back,  and took second at the line.  He was followed by 2012 track champion Chuck Clise, , Shawn Claar, Justin Kann and Greg Fetters.   Matt Sponaugle, Chris Rhodes, John Myers and Lance Smith completed the top 10.   Glessner and Dan Lee won the heats.
     Like Parks, Rick Singleton drew the pole in the Limited event and dominated the feature.  He ran off from George Dixon at the start and was never threatened.  Dixon held on for second at the finish.  DJ Troutman made a late race charge to third at the finish, followed by Yvette Hahn and Mike Altobelli Jr.  Rance Garlock, Bobby Watt, Matt Emerick, Dave Leidy and Donnie Farlling completed the top ten.   Dixon and Singleton won the heats.
    Track champion Keith Deeter was the early 4 Cylinder leader  before the Pluta twins arrived.Robert Pluta took over on lap 3 and Andrew Pluta got by Deeter on lap five.  From that point the Plutas battled with Robert holding sway to score the win.  Andrew Pluta was second  ahead of a late closing Dan Jackson, Deeter and Dave Lambert.    Kyle Beckett, Nick Zborovancik, Bill Hassenplug, Phil Best and Jon Gepner completed the top ten.  Robert Pluta and Ernie Bowser won the heats.
    The Semi latea and Pure Stock ran their qualifying heats only for their big day 2 events.  
LATE MODEL 25 LAP  1   Matt Parks,  2  Doug Glessner,  3  Chuck Clise,  4  Shawn Claar,  5  Justin Kann,  6  Greg Fetters,  7  Matt Sponaugle,  8  Chris Rhodes,  9  John Myers,  10  Lance Smith,  11  Dan Lee,  12  Gene Kain,  13  Wayne Johnson,  14  Tyler Dietz,  15  Bill Burns,  16  Chad McClellan,  17  Randy Smithley,
LIMITED 20 LAP  1  Rick Singleton,  2  George Dixon,  3  DJ Troutman,  4   Yvette Hahn,  5  Mike Altobelli Jr,  6  Rance Garlock,  7  Bobby Watt,  8  Matt Emerick,  9  Dave Leidy,  10  Donnie Farlling,  11  Curtis Heath,  12  Brian Lessley,  13  Joe Petyak,  15  Ron Bottenfield,  16  Craig Perigo  DNS  Travis Wilson
4 CYLINDER  15 LAPS  1   Robert Pluta,  2  Andrew Pluta,  3  Dan Jackson,  4  Keith Deeter,  5  Dave Lambert,  6  Tyler Beckett,  7  Nick Zborovancik,  8  Bill Hassenplug,  9  Phil Best,  10  Jon Gephart,  11  Steve Frederick,  12  Mike Hagans,  13  Kyle Beckett,  14  Mike Meck Sr,  15  Dustin Drake,  16  Ian Will,  17  Ernie Bowser,  18  Josh Datko,  19  Mike Meck Jr,  DNS  Kasey Fleegle